Screened as part of NZIFF 2007

Fringe Festival Shorts 

Directed by Various

This selection of short films to mark the 20th anniversary of the Wellington Fringe Festival includes early work by Robert Sarkies, Glenn Standring, Greg Page, Sima Urale and Jonathan Brough.


The Wellington Fringe Film Festival turns 20 this year and this small selection of films is being presented to celebrate the talent that has been a part of this important Wellington event. All made between 1988 and 2002, this eclectic mix of shorts, many of which won awards, were made by some of our more innovative directors early in their filmmaking careers. Some of these directors have gone on to produce award-winning features, while others are directors with feature films in development that you should be looking out for – especially in the drama and animation arena. The featured films are Walkshort (Bill Toepfer, 1987, 16mm, 10 mins), Dream Makers (Robert Sarkies, 1992, 16mm, 10 mins), Lenny Minute (Glenn Standring, 1993, 16mm, 13 mins), Sweetness (Rachel Davies, 1993, 16mm, 9 mins), Decaff (Greg Page, 1995, 4 mins), Permanent Wave (Jonathan Brough, 1996, 12 mins), O Tamaiti (Sima Urale, 1996, 15 mins), Shoes (Sally Rodwell, 1997, 11 mins), Man with Issues (Tom Reilly, 2002, Beta-SP, 5 mins).